Another Writing Milestone

chica usando ordenador

[Photo by Olga Berrios via flickr.]

My daughter continues to put me to shame with her writing output. After she published her first novel this summer, she dug right into writing the sequel. She took a month off for NaNoWriMo (by the NaNo rules, you have to start a brand-new book, so she tried something different: science fiction), then jumped right back into The Riddled Stone, Book Two.

And today she finished it!

Of course, there are still several months of editing to look forward to. She’s decided to tackle the first round of editing on her own, which I consider a sign of her maturing as a writer. Then we’ll have to go through it together to catch the typos (there are always typos) and make sure everything makes sense. And then do typesetting, and create a cover, and all that — it will be several months until the book is ready for the public. But she’s making great progress.

And by the way, you don’t need a Kindle to read her first book, Banished (The Riddled Stone, Book One). You can access it on your computer, tablet, or smart phone using Amazon’s Kindle Cloud Reader or a Kindle Reading App. Or if you’re a member of Amazon Prime, you can borrow the book (or my math book) for free.

About Denise Gaskins

I'm a veteran homeschooling mom who blogs about the adventure of learning, teaching, and playing around with mathematics from preschool to pre-calculus. If you enjoy my blog, please click here to check out my books. View all posts by Denise Gaskins

2 responses to “Another Writing Milestone

  • Valerie

    Awesome!! My daughter writes too. A LOT. O_O She does NaNoWriMo as well. It’s fascinating to me to watch her because I don’t do fiction writing and yet she lives and breathes it! How old is your daughter? Mine is 12. 🙂

  • Mudasir Nazir

    quite good and clean.
    I writes to and writing is my passion, your post make me able to refine my contents more easily.

Leave a Reply

