First Day of NaNoWriMo

240/365 National Novel Writing Month begins

Image by owlbookdreams via Flickr

Are you going to join the craze? NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month, and it’s a wild time. Grammar doesn’t count, or spelling, or even a consistent plot. The only thing that counts is words, words, words.

Of course, it might be more fun to write if you have a decent plot to work with. Maybe. But whenever you get stumped, feel free to throw something random into the story. After all, I know my homeschool co-op class bloggers are really good at writing random stuff.

Climbing Gecko is writing a story about two kids who get sucked into the world of Ancient Egypt with their dad. Sounds interesting!

Princess Kitten has been working hard on her plot and characters, but she hasn’t shared anything on her blog yet. I’m looking forward to seeing what she creates.

For more information, check out these links:

Now, start writing — and have fun!

15 responses to “First Day of NaNoWriMo

  • Kaylee

    Hello I’m Kaylee and I’m in Mrs Braidwood’s class. That sounds really fun . You don’t have to use a plot or spelling! I hope to be visiting your blog lots this year. You can count me in!!

  • Celina

    Hi I’m Celina from Mrs.Braidwood’s class. If you don’t have to use spelling and a plot sounds like a lot of fun! I would love to here a lot about this activity

  • Emily

    Hi I’m Emily from Mrs. Bradwood’s class. I would like to hear lots more about this activity. It sounds intresting! Wouldnt it be harder tonot have proper spelling and a pot?

  • Aiden

    Hi my name is Aiden from Mrs.Braidwood’s class. I think not worrying about grammar and spelling sounds like a lot of fun and it’s interesting. I wish my class would be able to try that.

    I think that story about the two kids who get stucked in ancient Egypt with their dad sounds like a really cool story. I’ll come back and see how the story is developing later.

  • TeacherMom

    Hi, Kaylee, Celine, Emily, and Aiden!
    Thank you for visiting my blog.

    You are right, NaNoWriMo is a lot of fun. My daughter did it last year, and she’s planning to try it again this year. In the Young Writers Program, you choose your own goal for how much to write. Last year my daughter wrote about 5,000 words, but I think she plans to set her goal higher this year.

    It is even more fun if you have friends to do it with you. Perhaps you should ask Mrs. Braidwood about trying it together as a class? You can find out all the information you need by clicking around on the Young Writer’s Program webpage.

  • Eli

    Hi I’m Eli and I live in the Comox Valley and go to Queneesh Elementary.
    I think the book about the two kids and their dad who get sucked into another world will be a great book!
    I also think it’s great to not have spelling and grammer count. It’s a real hastle trying to get everything right. Is this your first time writing a story?

  • Ryan

    Hi! I’m Ryan in Mrs. Braidwood’s class. I haven’t heard of NaNoWriMo before. I guess it’s not an event in our school. Maybe we should consider doing it because I love writing. I’ll just randomly start typinh stuff down onto a document and it’ll turn into a full-out story! Have you ever written a big story?

  • Travis

    Hello my name is Travis from the Comox Valley in B.C. Canada. The first day of NaNoWriMo sounds like a lot of fun. Maybe my class can do somthing like that this year. Did you enjoy it?

  • Gavin

    Hi my name is Gavin in Mrs.Braidwood’s class and I’m in gade seven. I’ve never tried to write a big story before. Maybe it would be a good idea. I’ve never participated in NaNoWriMo before. Wouldn’t it be more difficult to write a story with incorrect spelling and punctuations.

  • TeacherMom

    Hi, Eli, Ryan, Travis, and Gavin.
    Thank you for commenting!

    NaNoWriMo lasts for the whole month of November, so you can still start it even if you miss the first few days. You don’t have to do it as a class, though it is fun to do it with a friend. But anyone can sign up. Just click NaNoWriMo for young writers and follow the instructions there.

    I don’t write stories (I’m a nonfiction girl!), but my daughter writes lots of them. You can read some of them on her blog: Kitten’s Purring.

    And, Gavin, you don’t have to TRY to use incorrect spelling and punctuation in NaNoWriMo. It’s just that you don’t WORRY about them while you’re writing. That way, you can pay attention to the story you want to tell, without getting distracted.

  • NaNoWriMo 2010 | (Semi) Intellectual Blathering

    […] to support an excellent charity. Hey, if nothing else, it’s tax deductible!Related articlesFirst Day of NaNoWriMo (blogging2learn.wordpress.com)Calling All Writers to NaNoWriMo (psychologytoday.com)Simplifying […]

  • Shani

    Hello,
    Your blog has the most vist’s I have every seen

    Keep Bloging
    Shani
    http://scoopershani.edublogs.org/

  • Made It Halfway! « Blogging 2 Learn

    […] the month of November, and NaBloPoMo is still going strong. Kitten says she is making progress on her book, […]

Leave a Reply

