How To Add a Poll

Katie asked about adding a poll to her blog. I hadn’t tried that feature yet, which meant I had to work through it myself before I could answer her question. So I thought, “What would I like to know about my readers?” — and here’s the result:


I would love to hear what you like (or don’t like) about your blogging service in the Comments section below this post.

How To Create a Poll

  1. In your Dashboard sidebar, click Polls.
  2. If you don’t already have a PollDaddy account, choose to auto-create a new account.
  3. Click Add New to create a new poll.
  4. Type your poll question in the top box, and type the answers one by one.
  5. Choose your options: whether to allow multiple answers, show answers, allow repeat voting, etc.
  6. Click Save Poll.
  7. Click the List Polls link.
  8. Click Share-Embed.
  9. Copy the WordPress Shortcode. Be sure to include the square brackets!
    (The other codes are for putting your poll on Facebook or other websites.)
  10. Paste the shortcode in your post. Save Draft and Preview to see how it looks.
  11. If you want to make changes, go to Polls and click Edit.
    (Be sure to Save Poll again!)
  12. When you have it the way you like, Publish your post.

Notes and Suggestions

How strange! The poll appeared just fine in my draft post, but when I hit Publish, I couldn’t see it at first. I emptied my browser’s cache, but that didn’t seem to help. So then I came back to edit the post, putting in a note about the trouble I was having, and when I clicked Update, everything displayed properly. Weird!!! But if you have a disappearing poll, you might try to Edit and Update your post and see if the glitch straightens itself out for you, too.

If you want to put the poll in your sidebar, instead of in a post, then copy the shortcode into a Text Widget.

When I previewed my post, I saw that the poll wanted to crowd against my paragraph of introductory text above it. So I used a bit of HTML to separate them: <br /> will make a blank line in your post.

Finally, if you don’t have a WordPress.com blog, you can use the PollDaddy.com website to make a poll for your own blog, wherever it is hosted. Have fun!

11 responses to “How To Add a Poll

  • katiejoyb

    Thanks so much! I did publish one on my sidebar, more will come soon I’m sure! I really appreciate it!

  • TeacherMom

    Great! I went and voted in your poll. My prediction is that you’ll get a lot of “Other” votes, since there are so many books to choose from.

    I had been meaning to make a poll someday, but just hadn’t gotten around to doing it. Your question gave me a kick-start. Thanks!

  • Kyle

    I did do a poll, thanks for the information, but it isn’t working very good. several people have voted on it, but it only counts one vote, where on other blogs it didn’t. Do you know why?

  • TeacherMom

    Are you all using the same computer at home? Most polls are set to block repeat voting (so the same person can’t throw off your results by voting over and over), so after the first person uses it, no one else can vote from the same computer.

    You could test it by trying a different computer — either another one at home, or maybe one at the library or somewhere. I went to your blog and voted, and it seemed to save my entry just fine.

  • kyben

    Right now I am at a computer at the library, and it still didn’t work, ’cause I know that I did not have only 4 votes total. SOS HELP ;))))))))))))))))) 🙂

  • TeacherMom

    I don’t know, Kyle. Are you talking about the poll in your sidebar (hymns) or the poll about blogging? They both seem to be working on my computer, but neither of them show 4 votes (yet).

    If you know for sure that there should be other votes, then perhaps you should email the WordPress.com support people and ask them about it. Go to this website:
    http://support.wordpress.com/contact/
    And fill out the form. Be sure to give them as much information as you can, like the URL (internet address) of your blog and of your poll post, and how you know that it isn’t working.

    WordPress.com support people are very helpful. They may not get back to you right away, because of the weekend, but I’m sure they will give you some good advice.

  • John F Taylor

    Thank you so much for posting this as I was totally confused about how to add a poll. I really appreciate the help! Thanks again.

  • Annemarie

    Thank you! Very useful 😉

  • national archives

    thank you…going to try it now.

  • Top 100 classroom blogs

    […] Blogging 2 Learn – “Teacher Mom” uses her classroom blog to teach a 4th to 12th grade blogging class through a local homeschool co-op, and all of her students are required to maintain their own blogs. She is also the author of another educational blog, “Let’s Play Math!” Recommended posts: “Adding Photos & Giving Credit” and “How To Add a Poll.” […]

  • thescroobiouspip

    Thank you. I was missing a step and couldn’t figure it out. You have solved me issue!

Leave a Reply

