Hello World!

photo by Mike Licht, NotionsCapital.com

Beginning in January, I will teach a 4th-12th grade Blogging 2 Learn class through our local homeschool co-op. For now, this is my research blog, testing ideas and trying to imagine myself as a new blogger.

I expect to discuss things like:

  • What is a blog, and how is it different from a normal website?
  • What types of things can I put on a blog?
  • Step by step, how should a beginner get started?
  • How do I tweak the settings, widgets, etc.?
  • Where can I get ideas to write about?
  • How do I get people to read my blog?

We will do a bit of work with HTML, too, I think — although this morning I discovered the “Kitchen Sink” button on WordPress.com’s Edit Post page, so I’m not sure the kids will need to know any HTML for post formatting. It’s still necessary in comments, though, so we’ll at least hit the basics.

Have you used blogs with your students? If so, I would love to hear your suggestions and comments. And whether you are an experienced or a wanna-be blogger, please share: What do you think a Blogging to Learn class should cover?

3 responses to “Hello World!

  • Evelyn Saenz

    Do you have a forum where these teens can discuss their experiences with blogging? It occurred to me as I read your blog this morning that this could be a way for other teens to connect with the ones in your class and encourage all of them to continue writing.

  • TeacherMom

    You are right that getting comments and interaction from others will be very important to the students. That’s one of the things that keeps any blogger going. Our homeschool group has a closed forum for social networking within the group, and I will probably publish their blog links there, but we don’t have anything that others outside the group can access.

    Of course, we will all have each other on our blogrolls, and I plan to have them participate in some blog carnivals — in the Homeschool Blogs by Kids Carnival, at least. I’m always looking for more ideas.

  • Making a Plan « Blogging 2 Learn

    […] the winter/spring semester of our homeschool co-op classes, we will be meeting 12 times (plus an extra session for an end-of-semester party). Each class […]

Leave a Reply

